Fan Fiction by G. Norman Lippert

Rochelle October 17, 2017 @ 3:24PM
Book 1 - James Potter and the Hall of Elders' Crossing

I do not read Harry Potter fan fiction so I have never looked it up. However, while searching for something else I stumbled across fan fiction by G. Normal Lippert and I now want to read his stories. I just need to find the time to do so!

Apparently, author J.K. Rowling allows fan fiction of her magical world as long as no one profits from them and they are kid friendly. Therefore, Lippert is not allowed to profit from his stories, so he gives them away for free.

Well, most of them. There are is one (The Girl On The Dock) that is part of the world he has created changed so that none of Rowling's creations are found in the story. That is the only story found on this page that is being sold. The rest can be read at no cost to you. Most of the links are to the author's official website and GoodReads, where you can download the books in several formats for free. 

The James Potter series is about Harry's oldest son and his time at Hogwarts. It is much like the original series, only a generation later. There are also other short stories that take place before the James Potter series or in the middle of them. I have listed the books in the proper order so you don't have to figure out what came first. Just keep in mind that Lippert's world is not faithful to Rowling's. He has changed it to fit his vision of the world James grew up in.

Merlin's Gift
(A Founders Christmas Story)

Merlin's Gift: A Founders Christmas Story

This is a very short story about the founders and Christmas. You'll meet the four Hogwarts founders in this story, as well as Merlin and Santa Claus.

Harry's First Christmas
(A Marauder's Christmas Story)

Harry's First Christmas: A Marauders Christmas Story

This is a very short story about baby Harry's first Christmas. It is more about the Marauders than it is about Harry but it includes looks at characters we will meet later in Rowling's series.

James Potter And The Hall of Elders' Crossing
(Book 1)

Book 1 - James Potter and the Hall of Elders' Crossing

This is the first book in the James Potter series. It chronicles Harry's oldest son during his first year at Hogwarts. James struggles to come out of the shadow of his father while making friends and trying to prevent a war.

James Potter and the Curse of the Gatekeeper
(Book 2)

Book 2 - James Potter and the Curse of the Gatekeeper

James is back at Hogwarts for his second year of education there, along with his younger brother Albus and his cousin Rose. James and his friends find a new mystery to solve as he tries to prove that the new headmaster is trustworthy.

Petra's Getaway
(Book 1.5)

Book 1.5 - Petra's Getaway

Petra Morganstern is a character seen in the first two James Potter books. This is a very short story that takes place during first book's Christmas holiday. But I've listed it here, after the second book, because the author highly recommends that you not read it until after you've read the first two books because it contains spoilers.

The Girl On The Dock
(Book 2.5)

Book 2.5 - The Girl On The Dock

This story is about Petra Morganstern, a character first seen in the James Potter series, after she leaves Hogwarts. James is not in this story, nor any other character from Rowling's world, so you will need to buy this book to read it. However, it still takes place in Rowling's magical world, but it the names of places and things have been changed so there is no obvious reference to Rowling's writings.

Author Lippert recommends that you read this book before continuing to book three of the James Potter series so you have a better understanding of who Petra is in that book.

James Potter and the Vault of Destinies
(Book 3)

Book 3 - James Potter and the Vault of Destinies

James is back for his third year of magical education but this time he and his family are living in the United States. James and his brother are enrolled in an American magical school, and they get involved with another mystery, this time involving Petra Morganstern.

James Potter and The Morrigan Web
(Book 4)

Book 4 - James Potter and The Morrigan Web

In this story, James and his family are back home, and he returns to Hogwarts for his fourth year of school. The school is host to students from four other magical schools for a foreign exchange program, which introduces new characters. As with the other books, James has a mystery to solve, this time a magical doomsday weapon called the Morrigan Web.

James Potter and the Crimson Thread
(Book 5)

The fifth and final book in the James Potter series

James Potter and the Crimson Thread is the fifth and final story in the James Potter series. Author G. Normal Lippert began publishing it on his website on March 15, 2017. I say "began publishing" because he released a new chapter a day, starting on March 15th.

Do you live outside the United States?

Want to See More?

Click here to see the list of Harry Potter books

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This